St.Joseph’s Hospital Maracha

The Diocese of Arua was established on the 23rd June, 1958 in north-western Uganda cumulatively covering an area of over 10,561 Sq. km which are in the current districts of Arua, Adjumani, Koboko, Maracha, Terego, Moyo, Obongi, Yumbe and Zombo. It serves an estimated population of over
2 million Ugandan nationals in the north-western region of Uganda and an estimated number of 1,300,000 refugees from the Democratic Republic of Congo and South Sudan which neighbour Uganda from the west and north respectively.

The Diocese is headed by the Bishop, assisted by a Vicar general. It is divided in to 3 vicariates, 8 deaneries and 60 parishes and recently created a fourth vicariate to cater for the refugees from the Democratic Republic of Congo and South Sudan.

The north-western region of Uganda where the Diocese of Arua is located consists of approximately 347,702 households, four main tribes that are Lugbara, Aringa, Kakwa and Madi and the major religions are Catholic, Anglican and Islam. The minor ones include the religions of Orthodox, Seventh Day Adventist and Pentecostal Born Again. 60% of the said population are of catholic faith.